Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

DS sales smash Game Boy Advance record

Wed 28 Nov 2007 8:33am GMT / 3:33am EST / 12:33am PST

Nintendo of America has set a new sales record by selling more products during the Thanksgiving week than at any other time in the company's history.

Nintendo of America has set a new sales record by selling more products during the Thanksgiving week than at any other time in the company's history.

During the period November 18 to November 24, over 653,000 DS units were sold, smashing the previous record of 600,000 Game Boy Advance consoles sold in 2005.

A further 350,000 Wii home systems were also snapped up by Christmas shoppers, along with "millions of games and accessories".

"As shoppers look for ways to maximize their limited holiday spending money, they turn to gifts that can be used by the entire family," commented George Harrison, Nintendo of America's senior vice president of marketing and corporate communications.

"Wii and Nintendo DS offer something for every member of the family. They're the most fun video game experiences at the most affordable price."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now