Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Downloadable games are under-priced, says Weapon of Choice dev

Tue 25 Nov 2008 3:53pm GMT / 10:53am EST / 7:53am PST
Online

Former Insomniac developer frustrated at rigid pricing structure

The developer of XNA Community title Weapon of Choice has said that downloadable games like Bionic Commando: Rearmed and Castle Crashers are too cheap.

"I want to go on the record and say I feel like most downloadable games are under-priced," Nathan Fouts told MTV, describing 800 or 1200 Microsoft Points for the Capcom and Behemoth titles as "ridiculous to me".

Fouts, who used to work at Insomniac on Resistance: Fall of Man, released Weapon of Choice at the launch of the XNA Community Games channel with New Xbox Experience, and he admitted that he found Microsoft's restrictive pricing frustrating.

"Microsoft does not allow for user-defined price points like 799 Points or even 100-Point increments like 500, 600, 700, etc. For a bigger game like Weapon of Choice, only having two options, one of which is double the first option, makes the decision difficult," he explained.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now