Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Doctors dismiss 'videogame addiction' claim

Mon 25 Jun 2007 10:40am GMT / 6:40am EDT / 3:40am PDT

Leading doctors have stated that 'videogame addiction' is not to be recognised as a mental illness, or put in the same category as addiction to drugs or alcohol.

Leading doctors have stated that 'videogame addiction' is not to be recognised as a mental illness, or put in the same category as addiction to drugs or alcohol.

A debate at the American Medical Association found that doctors were opposed to such a classification, believing that more research needs to be done

"There's nothing here to suggest that this is a complex physiological disease state akin to alcoholism or other substance abuse disorders, and it doesn't get to have the word addition attached to it," said Dr. Stuart Gitlow of the American Society of Addiction Medicine.

The group stated that if research shows that videogame addiction is legitimate, it could be included in the American Psychiatric Association's next diagnostic manual in five years time.

The American Medical Association is to make a final recommendation on the subject later this week.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now