Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Disney in late stages of Playdom acquisition

Fri 23 Jul 2010 7:54am GMT / 3:54am EDT / 12:54am PDT
Business

Rumours suggest Disney to make significant social gaming move

Disney is in the "very" late stages of an acquisition of social games firm Playdom, according to rumours coming out the Casual Connect conference in Seattle.

As many as seven different sources have told TechCrunch the deal is in various stages from signed to still in negotiations and is being referred to as "Project Platinum" by the two companies.

Disney has upped its interests in social and online gaming recently, with its Steamboat Ventures business investing in Playdom last month, and a few weeks later buying up iPhone games maker Tapulous.

Playdom, led by former Electronic Arts exec John Pleasants, has received over $75 million in funding, and has itself been on an acquisition spree, gobbling up developers and brands in casual and online gaming.

The firm told GamesIndustry.biz last month it was interested in European talent, and also saw opportunities to break into the online gambling sectors.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now