Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Direct2Drive refuses to sell Modern Warfare 2

By Matt Martin

Thu 05 Nov 2009 11:21pm GMT / 6:21pm EST / 3:21pm PST

IGN's digital service objects to "Trojan Horse" of Steamworks

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

IGN's digital distribution service Direct2Drive will not be selling Activision's Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 due to the inclusion of Valve's Steamworks.

Valve revealed Steamworks would be powering the PC version of the game last week, adding auto-updating, anti-cheating, Achievements and the recently introduced Steam Cloud technology to the game.

However, Direct2Drive objects to the technology from rival Valve, stating "we donít believe games should force the user to install a Trojan Horse," reports Gamasutra.

The service will offer a USD 5 voucher for other Activision titles as a goodwill gesture to its users. Direct2Drive said it told publishers and developers earlier in the year it would not support products that use Steamworks going forward.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now