Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Developers: piracy a problem, but not threat to survival

Tue 10 Nov 2009 12:54pm GMT / 7:54am EST / 4:54am PST
TIGA NewsBusinessOnline

TIGA survey reveals mixed feelings on govt action to cut offending broadband supply

TIGA

TIGA is the trade association representing the UKís games industry. The majority of our members are...

tiga.org

The latest survey of TIGA members, discussing the issue of piracy in the UK, has revealed that while the vast majority of those questioned believe that the subject is a problem for their businesses - and one that is getting worse - most don't consider it to be an actual threat to the survival of their businesses.

In total 60 per cent surveyed agreed that it was an issue, while 90 per cent believed it was an increasing problem - but 60 per cent felt it was a low threat to the viability of their company, while just 10 per cent felt it was a significant threat.

Additionally, feelings were mixed on whether or not the government should take direct action on pirates by cutting or slowing broadband, with a 50/50 split on the matter.

"The results of the TIGA piracy survey clearly demonstrate that UK developers are taking the initiative when dealing with the issue of piracy and looking for new ways of delivering content and communicating directly with their consumers," said Richard Wilson, CEO of the organisation.

"Developers are not complacent in dealing with this problem and are mostly seeking to find solutions for themselves rather than simply relying on the government to solve the problem of piracy. This is testament to the pragmatic approach of the industry."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now