Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Dead Head Fred wins inaugural WGA award

Fri 15 Feb 2008 9:06pm GMT / 4:06pm EST / 1:06pm PST

Dead Head Fred has won the Writers Guild of America's inaugural Videogame Writing Award at the 2008 Writers Guild Awards

Dead Head Fred has won the Writers Guild of America's inaugural Videogame Writing Award at the 2008 Writers Guild Awards.

"D3PA and the entire Dead Head Fred team at Vicious Cycle are all very grateful and humbled by this award," said Yoji Takenaka, executive vice president and chief operations officer, D3Publisher of America.

"We look forward to bringing fans many more top quality games and continuing to elevate the standard of game writing in the industry."

The WGA's inaugural Videogame Writing Award was developed to encourage storytelling excellence in videogames, improve the status of writers, and foster uniform standards within the gaming industry.

Dead Head Fred beat out fellow nominees Crash of the Titans, The Simpsons Game, The Witcher and World In Conflict.

"Being nominated along with so many top caliber writers for the first WGA Video Game Writing Award was an honor in itself, so it's fantastic that we won," said Eric Peterson, president and chief executive officer, Vicious Cycle Software.

"Dead Head Fred was something we had a lot of fun with and we are glad that players and fans are enjoying the game as much as we do."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now