Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

D3Publisher acquires Coraline license

Mon 16 Jun 2008 4:17pm GMT / 12:17pm EDT / 9:17am PDT
Publishing

D3Publisher announces a worldwide publishing agreement for games based upon the Coraline stop-motion animated film

D3Publisher has announced a worldwide publishing agreement with the Universal Pictures Digital Platforms Group for videogames based upon Focus Features and LAIKA Entertainment's Coraline.

Coraline, based upon Neil Gaiman's best-selling book of the same title, is an upcoming 3D stop-motion animated feature from Henry Selick - director of The Nightmare Before Christmas.

"The alternative-reality based plot of Coraline translates exceptionally well to an interactive gaming adventure," said Yoji Takenaka, executive VP and COO of D3Publishing, North America and Europe.

"We are enjoying working closely with the filmmakers and the team at Universal and Focus Features to authentically portray the film's unique cast of characters and allow players of all ages to experience not only key environments and moments from the movie, but also elements that go beyond the feature film."

Console versions of the game are being developed by Papaya Studios, with handheld versions being developed by ART. The games are scheduled for a Q1 2009 release to coincide with the release of the movie on February 6, 2009.

D3Publisher also announced that it will bring Shaun the Sheep to the Nintendo DS in North America. The company had earlier announced the acquisition of the European license for the Aardman Animation property.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now