Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Crytek: No more PC exclusive titles

Wed 30 Apr 2008 8:23am GMT / 4:23am EDT / 1:23am PDT
Development

The company's president has blamed piracy for the need to develop for multiple platforms, describing it as a "core problem"

The president of Crytek, Cevat Yerli, has revealed that the company will no longer develop titles exclusive to the PC.

Speaking in an interview to PC Play, Yerli explained some of the difficulties the developer encountered with its title Crysis. He went into details on how piracy had affected the title and that it had taught the company a valuable lesson.

"We are suffering currently from the huge piracy that is encompassing Crysis," explained Yerli.

"We seem to lead the charts in piracy by a large margin, a chart leading that is not desirable. I believe that's the core problem of PC gaming, piracy."

"It was a big lesson for us and I believe we won't have PC exclusives as we did with Crysis in future. We are going to support PC, but not exclusive anymore," he added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now