Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Crytek acquires Free Radical Design - report

Wed 04 Feb 2009 6:50am GMT / 1:50am EST / 10:50pm PST
Development

Crysis developer picks up troubled UK outfit, according to reports

Troubled developer Free Radical Design has been acquired by Crysis studio Crytek.

That's according to Free Radical's Rob Yescombe, who revealed the deal to consumer site 1UP.

"After seven long weeks of uncertainty, I can confirm that Free Radical is now out of the woods. We've been bought by a really, really good company," said Yescombe.

It is still not clear whether Crytek has acquired the whole business, including intellectual properties such as TimeSplitters and Second Sight.

Free Radical Design went into administration just before Christmas last year.

UPDATE: ReSolve has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz the purchase, with over 40 positions saved at the company.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now