Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Crysis 2 to go multiformat

Mon 01 Jun 2009 11:42am GMT / 7:42am EDT / 4:42am PDT

Sequel to high-end PC shooter marks developer's first title for home consoles

Crytek has announced that Crysis 2 will be a multiformat release, marking the studio's first crack at a console game, and will be published by EA.

The title will be built using the developer's own CryEngine 3, middleware that has been built with the next-generation of home consoles in mind.

The German developer has always been open in its desire to create a title for home consoles, and most recently bought UK studio Free Radical Design to help accelerate its entry into the market.

"The development of Crysis 2 marks a major stepping stone for our studio," said Cevat Yerli, CEO and president of Crytek. "This is not only the next game in the Crysis franchise, it's the first title we are developing for consoles and the first title being built on CryENGINE 3. We are excited to have the support of EA Partners again as we work together to make the launch of Crysis 2 a huge event."

"Nothing speaks more to the success of the EA Partners program than when a studio the calibre of Crytek continues to work with us," said David DeMartini, senior VP and GM of EA Partners. "Crytek is already one of the elite PC development studios in the world and we are excited to have the opportunity to partner with them in bringing their award-winning technology and gameplay to more platforms and a wider audience with Crysis 2."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now