Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Court orders Nintendo to pay $21m

Thu 15 May 2008 7:59am GMT / 3:59am EDT / 12:59am PDT
Business

Company found guilty of patent infringement while designing a range of controllers

Nintendo of America has been ordered to pay USD 21 million to Anascape, a small Texas gaming company, for infringing on its controller patents.

Microsoft was also sued by the company but decided to settle out of court before the trial began, according to a report by CNN.

While the jury did find Nintendo guilty of infringing on Anascape's patent for its Wii Classic, WaveBird and Gamecube controllers it did not with any of the Wii's motion-sensing technology.

A spokesperson for Nintendo said the company planned to appeal the decision and expects damages to be "significantly" reduced.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now