Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Conflict developer Pivotal Games to close

Mon 14 Jul 2008 3:32pm GMT / 11:32am EDT / 8:32am PDT
Development

SCi axe falls on studio behind Eidos' war series; handful of staff to remain with publisher

Developer of Eidos' Conflict titles – Pivotal Games – is to close, GamesIndustry.biz can reveal.

Sources close to the company indicated that 99 members of staff have been made redundant, with the rest of the team expected to go within three months as the studio is wound down completely.

Speaking to GamesIndustry.biz, Eidos confirmed the closure, stating that a small number of staff will remain with the publisher to work on other projects.

"Eidos' parent company SCi Entertainment Group announced on February 29 its plans to re-structure its business and to focus on cornerstone studios and core franchises," said a spokesperson for the publisher.

"As part of this process Eidos confirms that despite reviewing a number of alternative options, we are closing Pivotal Games but we will be keeping a team of 10-12 specialists in Bath - who will work on specific projects for the group."

At the end of February, parent company of Eidos and Pivotal, SCi Entertainment, announced plans to cut staff numbers by 25 per cent and cancel a number of projects in various stages of development.

1 Comment

Tameem Antoniades Creative Director & Co-founder, Ninja Theory Ltd

196 164 0.8
Horrible news. Especially on the back of Flagship studios. I feel for everyone involved. This industry is getting harsher and harsher. "Developers have never had it so good" is not a statement i agree with.

Posted:6 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now