Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Codemasters refuses to comment on Warner buyout rumours

Tue 23 Jun 2009 11:12am GMT / 7:12am EDT / 4:12am PDT
Business

McRae publisher denies any links to growing Warner games division

Codemasters

Taken from MobyGames.com:

Codemasters develops and publishes video games for Sony, Nintendo and Microsoft...

codemasters.com

Codemasters has told GamesIndustry.biz that it will not comment on a rumour that Warner Bros. is in talks to buy the UK racing publisher.

Rumours of the buyout first appeared on UK games blog VG247, suggesting Warner has completed due diligence on Codemasters and is pursuing a takeover.

"We won't respond to that story," said a spokesperson for the company. "Everything is fine here."

Representatives for Warner Bros. have not returned calls at the time of going to press.

Warner Bros was named last month as a buyer for troubled publisher Midway, and it hopes to snap up the majority of the Mortal Kombat business for USD 33 million.

Codemasters was in growth mode at the end of last year, snapping up just under 70 employees by acquiring Swordfish Studios in Birmingham.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now