Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Codemasters acquires Sega Racing Studio

Fri 25 Apr 2008 9:30am GMT / 5:30am EDT / 2:30am PDT
BusinessDevelopment

Recently closed outfit to become part of UK publisher

Codemasters

Taken from MobyGames.com:

Codemasters develops and publishes video games for Sony, Nintendo and Microsoft...

codemasters.com

Codemasters has announced it is to acquire Sega Racing Studio, the troubled development team that closed its doors earlier this month.

The outfit, based in Solihull, consists of 40 team members, and most recently worked on Sega Rally.

"In seizing this opportunity, we have created additional resources to escalate our plans in the racing segment,” commented Rod Cousens, chief executive of Codemasters.

"We hope to welcome more than 40 people to the company and we have enjoyed the full co-operation of our friends at Sega in making this happen.

"It is good business for Codemasters, an exciting prospect and there will be more to come as we are not content to stand still," he added.

Codemasters already has a highly specialised racing team responsible for the Colin McRae and Race Driver franchises, amongst others.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now