Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Citigroup: In-game ads to reach $1 billion in 2014

Wed 17 Jun 2009 7:02am GMT / 3:02am EDT / 12:02am PDT
Advertising

Analyst claims in-game advertising is growing substantially, in terms of revenue and advertiser 'appetite'

In-game advertisement revenue may reach USD 1 billion by 2014, according to Citigroup.

As reported by Gamasutra, Citigroup says that the current in-game advertising market generates USD 600 million annually, and expects a 40 per cent growth in the next seven years.

The Citigroup report says that in-game ads "have higher engagement" than traditional online advertisements, and that "advertisers' appetite for in-game marketing appears to be increasing."

The group sees the highest growth in the online gaming space. According to its research, the average age of a videogame player is 35, and 40 per cent of what it defines as "total gamers" are female.

Citi's in-game ad forecast is not quite as ambitious as that of PricewaterhouseCoopers. While Citi sees USD 1 billion in revenue by 2014, PwC is predicting USD 1.4 billion by 2013.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now