Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Cheaper tech is Miyamoto's mission

Tue 21 Oct 2008 10:58am GMT / 6:58am EDT / 3:58am PDT
Development

Nintendo plans to continue taking advantage of technology to "create reasonable and affordable entertainment"

Speaking on a flying visit to London recently, Shigeru Miyamoto said that Nintendo intended to continue producing entertainment products that provided "very good value".

As part of a broader comment on the themes of "excessive violence" in modern videogames, Miyamoto told Channel 4: "Nintendo's mission is to take advantage of improving cheaper technology to create reasonable and affordable entertainment."

Nintendo has enjoyed unpredicted success with the Wii and DS - systems that innovated in control technology rather than graphics and processing. This is a trend that goes back to Game Boy creator Gunpei Yokoi's views on "lateral thinking of withered technology".

Yokoi sought to take advantage of cheap, mature technology in the design of systems like the Game Boy, and current Nintendo boss Satoru Iwata has previously acknowledged that it continues to inform the thoughts of designers working on systems like DS and Wii.

Miyamoto also reiterated his belief that "there are more ways of grabbing players' attention than violence alone" and added that he hopes "parents take advantage of the age ratings when letting their children play".

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now