Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

CCP chooses micro-transactions for DUST 514

Mon 05 Oct 2009 7:28am GMT / 3:28am EDT / 12:28am PDT
OnlineDevelopment

EVE Online developer moves away from subscription model for console FPS

CCP, the Icelandic developer behind massively multiplayer game EVE Online, will adopt a micro-transactions model for it new spin-off DUST 514.

The game is a strategic first-person shooter for home consoles and will link through gameplay to EVE Online, but unlike the PC game will not require a subscription to play, according to a our sister site Eurogamer.net.

The company revealed new details of the shooter this weekend at its annual Fanfest in Reykjavik.

DUST 514 will allow at least 64 players to fight in online battles, and users can communicate with EVE players in-game or via the company's New Eden social network.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now