Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Car bombings blamed on GTA IV

Fri 08 Aug 2008 12:53pm GMT / 8:53am EDT / 5:53am PDT
Politics

Three arrested teens say RockStar's game taught them how to make Molotov Cocktails

Three teenagers who have been arrested in the US and charged over a spate of car bombings say Grand Theft Auto IV taught them how to make the Molotov cocktails they used.

Atlanta police arrested the teens - aged between 15 and 16 - who reportedly old authorities they learned "how to do it" from playing "Grand Theft Auto", according to WSBTV.

Recently, GTA IV's Thailand distributor pulled the title from store shelves following a murder committed by a teen - claiming to be trying to recreate a scene from the game.

2 Comments

GTA contains a tutorial on how to make or construct molotov cocktails?

OH WAIT - that's right... it displays a virtual representation of the Molotov cocktail. Clearly, seeing something is instruction and surely parenting, personal responsibility, the internet, movies, TV, or social life all have nothing to do with this.

Clearly, GTA is the sole factor is pushing these children toward violence.

/sarcasm

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Phil Elliott
Project Leader, Collective; Head of Community (Live Team)

157 25 0.2
I find it a little odd, and a little unnerving, that all of a sudden it's en vogue for kids to start attributing their...behaviour...to videogames.

I hope it's not the start of a trend.

Posted:5 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now