Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Capcom's Mark Beaumont passes away

Wed 24 Feb 2010 8:02am GMT / 3:02am EST / 12:02am PST
People

Executive had worked in the games business for 28 years with stints at Atari, Activision and Midway

Mark Beaumont, most recently chief operating officer of Capcom North America and Europe, has passed away.

"Our COO and dear friend, Mark Beaumont, passed away this morning," said Capcom in a statement issued to Kotaku. "This sudden loss has left us with deep sadness.

"Our hearts go out to his family and loved ones. We will remember him for his humor, passion and commitment to Capcom and our industry. He was a great leader and visionary and his spirit will carry on in everything that we do. Please join us in memory of Mark."

Beaumont worked for over 28 years in the videogame business, beginning his career with Atari before moving to Activision in the early Eighties. Later working for Time Warner Interactive, he moved to Midway games to eventually become senior vice president.

In 2005 he moved to Capcom as senior vice president of America, then executive vice president of publishing for North America, South America and Europe, before taking on the role of COO.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now