Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Capcom sees record Q1 profits up 23 per cent

Fri 31 Jul 2009 7:43am GMT / 3:43am EDT / 12:43am PDT
BusinessFinancePublishing

Japan sales strong, but games aimed at Western market not hitting project numbers, says publisher

Capcom is celebrating record quarterly profits for the three months ended June 30, up 23 per cent compared to the previous year.

Profits were JPY 3.6 billion (USD 38.4m), with revenues up 19.2 per cent to JPY 19.4 billion (USD 204.6m).

Resident Evil 5 has now shipped 5 million units, a record for the franchise, while monster Hunter Freedom Unite has shipped 3.5 million copies in Japan.

Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth and Sengoku Basara Battle Heroes were also singled out for strong sales during the quarter.

"As a result, we marked the best net sales, operating income and ordinary income since quarterly release announcements began," said the publisher.

However, outside of Japan, the company noted that Bionic Commando "which was targeted to the overseas markets, underperformed its projected sales," with 550,000 units sold. Monster Hunter Freedom Unite "also performed weakly" overseas, said Capcom.

Capcom is also delaying the release of Dark Void, pushing the game out of the Christmas release window at the end of the year and into the first quarter of 2010. However, it still expects the game to sell two million units on release.

Lost Planet 2, a sequel due before the end of the year, is estimated to sell 2.7 million units.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now