Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Capcom pledges to cut dev time in half with US and EU help

Tue 27 Jul 2010 11:04am GMT / 7:04am EDT / 4:04am PDT
OutsourcingPublishing

Outsourcing to the West in order to release up to four key titles per year

Japanese publisher Capcom hopes to increase the number of key franchise titles it releases each year.

It intends to reduce average development time from four years to two to three years, and will enlist the help of Western studios to achieve this.

Currently, the publisher releases one to two games from its major IPs such as Resident Evil and Street Fighter per year. It hopes to bump this up to three to four by increasing studio manpower.

A report on the Nikkei revealed that Capcom's larger titles currently involve over 100 staff, but it intends to inflate this by outsourcing to North American and European studios.

Capcom's remaining 2010 line-up is currently slim only Dead Rising 2 and Sengoku Basara Samurai Heroes remain before the year is out.

The publisher yesterday announced it would be skipping GamesCom, though it blamed this on German sensitivity to Dead Rising's violence.

1 Comment

Haven Tso
Web-based Game Reviewer

255 8 0.0
I hope they will not be compromising the quality for quantity. Capcom is one of the few developers left who are actually serious about their games instead of just going for profits. It will be sad if they turn into another EA or Activision, or even Square Enix

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now