Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Call of Duty 4 sells 10 million units

By Matt Martin

Wed 04 Jun 2008 8:52am GMT / 4:52am EDT / 1:52am PDT

Activision shooter continues sales success in 2008

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

Infinity Ward

Infinity Ward is an accomplished team of game makers focused on creating games that are fun, exciting,...

Activision's first-person shooter Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare has sold over 10 million units according to developer Infinity Ward.

Speaking to, studio head Vince Zampella revealed the sales numbers, and also said that its add-on map pack had also reached 1.5 million sales.

The game has been released on PC, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. It has established itself as a multiplayer favourite, knocking the best-selling Halo 3 off the top of the most-played charts on Xbox Live, as well as winning multiple awards.

Earlier this year, Infinity Ward said that on a daily basis between 1.2 and 1.3 million users were playing Call of Duty 4 via Xbox Live.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now