Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Bungie's new Halo game pulled from E3 at last minute?

Wed 16 Jul 2008 9:10am GMT / 5:10am EDT / 2:10am PDT
Development

Microsoft reveals the developer is working on a new game in the franchise following a no-show at E3

Don Mattrick, senior VP of Microsoft Interactive Entertainment, has confirmed that Bungie is working on a new title in the Halo franchise.

During an interview with MTV, Mattrick further talked about the lack of Halo news at Microsoft's Monday E3 press conference, saying it was already filled with new content and so any announcements for that series weren't needed.

This comes after Bungie recently announced that they had hoped to reveal a new project at E3 but it's publisher decided against it.

In an open letter published on the developer's website and signed by Harold Ryan, the company's president, he explained that Bungie hoped to unveil its new project soon and apologised to fans for the delay.

"For the last several months, we've been building toward a reveal of something exciting that Bungie is working on. We were looking forward to sharing that with our fan community during the week of E3. However, those plans were just changed by our publisher," read the letter.

"We realise that many of our fans are disappointed by this turn of events; members of the Bungie team share that disappointment."

The Halo franchise is set to see a number of new titles including a game by the Lord of the Rings director, Peter Jackson, and the RTS by Ensemble Studios Halo Wars.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now