Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Blue Fang names Alex Chouls creative director

Tue 09 Jun 2009 8:06am GMT / 4:06am EDT / 1:06am PDT
People

Former technical art director's first game in the new role will be the just-announced World of Zoo

Massachusetts-based developer Blue Fang Games has named Alex Chouls as its creative director.

The first game Chouls will direct in his new role is World of Zoo, a zoo simulation game for the Wii, Nintendo DS and PC announced during last week's Electronic Entertainment Expo in Los Angeles.

"To me, what is so unique about Alex is that he is a supremely talented and accomplished artist, can himself program when necessary, and above all has game design intuition and vision that is the equal of any in the industry today," said Blue Fang president Hank Howie. "It is a rare combination of skills resident in a single individual and we are extremely fortunate to have Alex as our creative director."

Chouls has been in the videogame industry for over a decade. Prior to his tenure at Blue Fang Games, he worked as a 3D artist at Looking-Glass Studios, contributing art to Jane's Attack Squadron and Flight Unlimited III.

"This studio has assembled a unique combination of expertise, talent, technology and vision that enables us to deliver gaming experiences unlike any other studio," said Chouls. "I am eager for our current project, World of Zoo, to be released this fall and I look forward to building and expanding on this work in future products."

Blue Fang Games is known mainly for its Zoo Tycoon franchise, developed for Microsoft Game Studios. World of Zoo, a natural extension of the studio's expertise, is being developed for THQ under a contract signed in February of 2008.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now