Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Blu-ray sales reach 1 million milestone

Tue 24 Apr 2007 9:57am GMT / 5:57am EDT / 2:57am PDT

Sales of Blu-ray discs have reached one million in less than a year, according to the Blu-ray Disc Association.

Sales of Blu-ray discs have reached one million in less than a year, according to the Blu-ray Disc Association.

Blu-ray discs also accounted for 70 per cent of high-definition movie sales in the first quarter of 2007, with three in every four hi-def movies sold in March on the next-gen format.

"Sales of Blu-ray disc titles have taken off since the first of the year," commented Andy Parsons, chairman of the Blu-ray Disc Association.

"Blu-ray discs have been outselling HD-DVD by more than two to one since the beginning of the year and the gap is steadily widening."

"It's exactly what we've said all along would happen — the strong support for Blu-ray among movie studio and equipment manufacturers means that consumers have more choices when it comes to players and titles," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now