Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Blizzard pledges return to console game development

Mon 21 Dec 2009 10:20am GMT / 5:20am EST / 2:20am PST
Development

It will "definitely" happen, says WoW producer

World of Warcraft producer J Allen Brack has stated the company will definitely return to making console games at some point in the future, despite a 15 year absence from the market.

"We're a company of gamers," Brack said, in an interview with Gamasutra celebrating 15 years of Warcraft, as reported by Eurogamer.

"I have two consoles at home. Sam [Didier, art director] has consoles. We're a culture of gamers. We will definitely work on a console game at some point. I have no doubt about that. It's just [a matter of] what game. What makes the most sense?"

Brack also said, "It's obviously because we've made only PC games for the last 15 years, but there's a perception, I think, that Blizzard is anti-console, and that's absolutely not the case."

But Didier moved to defend the health of the PC gaming market. "I don't see the PC market as being bad," he said. "I mean, we didn't have 12 million players ten years ago. Whatever the format, console or PC, I think if there is a good game, it's going to be played.

"We're working on PC because it's familiar to us and it's relatively easy and it's not changing formats every other year and there aren't three different versions. Console, we have to worry about [those things]. I think the PC is really a good market to target."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now