Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Blizzard to unveil new title at Worldwide Invitational?

Wed 25 Jun 2008 8:06am GMT / 4:06am EDT / 1:06am PDT
Games

Rumours suggest Diablo 3 is on its way, but Rob Pardo refuses to be drawn

Ahead of this weekend's Blizzard Worldwide Invitational in Paris the frenzy of speculation around what the company's "big news" would be has increased further with the VP of design, Rob Pardo, hinting that it might be a new title.

In a question and answer session that concluded this year's GDC Paris, Pardo was asked directly if he could talk more about "the new game" that rumours have strongly suggested will be Diablo 3.

"So you want me to announce the game before our announcement?" he said. "No offense, but I think there's like 300 people here, and I'll be ripped apart by 8000 people there [at the Invitational] if I pre-announce it - but it's going to be really exciting. I think everybody here will be really excited about the announcement."

Blizzard is currently hard at work on the next expansion to World of Warcraft, as well as the next instalment in the Starcraft series. The Diablo franchise, for which the last title was released in 2000, is the other main entry in Blizzard's IP log and fans have been clamouring for a new game in the series for some time.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now