Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Blizzard bans 350,000 Battle.net accounts

Wed 12 Nov 2008 8:53am GMT / 3:53am EST / 12:53am PST
Development

Initial 30-day ban from the online service could result in permanent ban over use of third-party hacks

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Blizzard has revealed that it has closed over 350,000 StarCraft and Diablo II accounts which were found to be using third-party hacks.

The company further revealed that the Diablo II CD keys associated with the closed accounts are now barred from playing on Battle.net for 30 days and warned that repeat offenders face a permanent ban.

"We reserve the right to close the accounts and ban the CD keys of players who are caught cheating on Battle.net," the developer said in a statement.

"Cheating ruins the game experience for legitimate players, and we will not tolerate it."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now