Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Bethesda picks up Fallout series

Fri 13 Apr 2007 9:20am GMT / 5:20am EDT / 2:20am PDT

Bethesda Softworks has purchased the rights to the Fallout series of videogames from Interplay for $5.75 million, according to an SEC filing.

Bethesda Softworks

The Bethesda Softworks division, founded in 1986, has a long history of success as a developer and publisher...

bethsoft.com

Bethesda Softworks has purchased the rights to the Fallout series of videogames from Interplay for $5.75 million, according to an SEC filing.

Interplay previously granted Bethesda the rights to develop sequels in the series whilst keeping the option to produce a Fallout MMO, and work on a third instalment had already begun.

As a result of the new deal, Bethesda is the sole owner of the Fallout IP - and will be licensing rights to the MMO game to Interplay.

However, the licence is conditional on Interplay starting work on the game and securing at least USD 30 million in financing within two years. In addition, the MMO must launch within four years after development begins, or Interplay will lose the licence.

If the conditions are met and the game is released, Bethesda will receive 12 per cent of sales and subscription fees as payment for the use of the Fallout IP.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now