Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Best Buy delays UK store launch

Thu 05 Mar 2009 8:31am GMT / 3:31am EST / 12:31am PST
BusinessRetail

Consumer electronics and games retailer pushes date back to Q1 2010

Best Buy

With operations in the United States, Canada, Europe, China and Mexico, Best Buy is a multinational retailer...

bestbuy.com

US retail chain Best Buy, which specialises in consumer electronics and videogames sales, has postponed the planned launch of its first UK store until the first quarter of 2010.

The company had planned to open the store as part of its joint venture with the Carphone Warehouse in the summer of this year, but according to the finance director and CEO of that joint venture, the change of heart wasn't related to its current economic troubles.

"If it makes more commercial sense to open three or four months later, that is what we will do," Taylor told the Financial Times.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now