Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Beatles: Rock Band charity song sells 100,000 copies

Tue 20 Oct 2009 8:59am GMT / 4:59am EDT / 1:59am PDT
Publishing

Xbox Live-only "All You Need is Love" proves popular for number 1 US music game

The Beatles: Rock Band, which debuted in the US monthly chart for September in fifth place - making it the number one music game that month ahead of Guitar Hero 5 - sold 100,000 copies of the downloadable single "All You Need is Love" in total, with proceeds going to the Doctors Without Borders charity.

And according to MTV Games the title was the second-highest revenue-earner behind Microsoft's Halo 3: ODST for that month, selling over a quarter of a million units on the Xbox 360 platform.

"We've heard countless stories about how The Beatles: Rock Band has inspired and brought friends, families and even complete strangers together," said Scott Guthrie, executive VP and president of MTV Games. "The overwhelmingly positive reaction by music fans, hardcore gamers, critics, retailers, young and old alike, has been extremely gratifying.

"The game was a labour of love for the teams at Apple Corps, MTV Games and Harmonix and seeing it resonate across generations the world over is truly priceless."

The Rock Band franchise has seen over 60 million downloads to-date, and will hit 1000 playable songs by the end of 2009, with Abbey Road being made available in the US today while Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club will release in November and Rubber Soul in December.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now