Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

BBFC: Industry shouldn't forget we're pro-games

Fri 23 May 2008 9:00am GMT / 5:00am EDT / 2:00am PDT
Politics

The censors' director, David Cooke, complains that people forget the BBFC is a pro-games institution

BBFC

Presently the BBFC classify some of the video games released in the UK. This maybe because they forfeit...

bbfc.co.uk

BBFC's director, David Cooke, has appealed to the games industry by saying it is a pro-games institution.

Speaking exclusively to GamesIndustry.biz, Cooke said the BBFC's games examiners are "passionate" about games. He went on to complain how the debate over its role in rating videogames has misrepresented its opinions of the medium.

"The point I want to get across about this is - I've got people in this building, about ten examiners who do games, and these are some of the best gamers I've ever come across and these are people who are passionate about games and know a great deal about it," Cooke explained.

"I know the Pegi testers as well, and I think the people here have a greater expertise and knowledge of games."

"The thing that's getting lost in this argument is that we actually like games and we're enthusiastic about games and we do buy into the argument that some games are beautiful and aesthetically satisfying. Bioshock and Shadow of the Colossus and so on," he added.

The full interview with BBFC's director, David Cooke, can be read here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now