Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Battlefield to keep dedicated servers

Tue 27 Oct 2009 12:14pm GMT / 8:14am EDT / 5:14am PDT
Online

EA DICE responds to Infinity Ward criticism over third party PC network

Battlefield developer DICE has fired a shot across the bows of rival Infinity Ward, reassuring fans that it will be sticking with a dedicated server set-up for multiplayer in the PC version of Battlefield Bad Company 2.

"A lot of buzz has been floating around the internet lately about dedicated servers," said the developer, referring to the storm of protest over to Infinity Ward's decision not to use dedicated servers for Modern Warfare 2 on PC.

"Since Battlefield 1942 DICE has used dedicated servers for all platforms. This formula has worked well, and still works well, for us and for the gaming community. We have stayed true to this practice and will continue this tradition into the upcoming title Battlefield Bad Company 2," said DICE's Gordon Van Dyke.

"Other games use player-hosted or 'peer to peer' solutions, often resulting in a 'host with the most' situation; where the player hosting the match has an advantage over other players connected to their game," he continued. "This makes dedicated servers the best solution for online PC gaming hands down!"

The companys also released a FAQ document which, pointedly, answers every criticism that has been levelled at Infinity Ward's IWNet since last week's announcement.

Battlefield Bad Company 2 is out on 5th March 2010 for Xbox 360 and PS3 as well as PC.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now