Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Axed Helixe studio founds DoubleTap Games

Tue 03 Feb 2009 9:34am GMT / 4:34am EST / 1:34am PST
Development

New independant DS focused studio emerges out of last year's THQ job cuts

Former employees of THQ's now defunct DS development house Helixe have founded their own studio, DoubleTap Games.

Helixe closed its doors last November as part of multiple layoffs at THQ, after having worked on the DS adaptations of Wall-E and Ratatouille.

DoubleTap Games, headed by Kurt Bickenbach and Richard Corredera, hopes to continue building on the work the group has done with Nintendo's handheld and to capitalise on existing relationships with publishers.

"The team and talent we have access to here at DoubleTap is truly phenomenal, and we've only just begun to scratch the surface of innovative game play mechanics that can be created for the DS," said Corredera, director of business affairs.

"We're heading into 2009 with great publisher relationships and a few titles already on the slate for development."

The DoubleTap development team boasts over 50 years of experience, shipping 40+ games, and has long standing roots with THQ, Mad Doc Software, Sony Online Entertainment, NetDevil, Looking Glass Studios, and New World Computing.

Bickenbach, director of production, added: "We're excited to be working with some of the industry's finest talent. Despite the challenging economic climate, we're committed to creating exceptional games and a strong studio."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now