Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Atomic keeps quiet on Benito quit rumours

Wed 05 Aug 2009 11:42am GMT / 7:42am EDT / 4:42am PDT
PeopleDevelopment

Sources indicate creative director's departure from Six Days in Fallujah developer

Sources have indicated to GamesIndustry.biz that Juan Benito, the creative director at Atomic Games, has left the company.

While his profile is still listed on the company's website, the developer behind the controversial Six Days in Fallujah action title refused to confirm or deny the truth of the speculation.

"Atomic Games has no comment at this time," read a brief statement issued to us.

Attempts to reach Benito, who co-founded Red Storm Entertainment and worked on the Tom Clancy Rainbow Six and Ghost Recon franchises, have also proved fruitless so far.

Six Days in Fallujah is an attempt to recreate the "true stories of marines and soldiers who fought in the largest urban battle in nearly half a century" in the Iraq conflict in 2004, but following a public backlash, Konami pulled out of the publishing deal.

Following that move in April, Atomic CEO Peter Tamte roundly defended the game's creation, blasting critics by asking if videogame developers should be regarded simply as "toymakers" or as "media companies capable of producing content that is as relevant as movies, music and television."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now