Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Atari settles Dragon Ball Z dispute

Mon 10 Dec 2007 11:45pm GMT / 6:45pm EST / 3:45pm PST

Atari has announced that it has settled its dispute with FUNimation Productions related to the licensing of the Dragon Ball Z franchise

Atari

Atari group is a global creator, producer and publisher of interactive entertainment for interactive...

atari.com

Atari has announced that it has settled its dispute with FUNimation Productions related to the licensing of the Dragon Ball Z franchise.

As previously reported, FUNimation served Atari with a notice to terminate the license based on alleged breaches of their licensing agreement.

Atari settled the matter for USD 3.5 million, consisting of a cash payment of approximately USD 2.7 million and an USD 0.8 million reduction in the amount of recoupable royalty advance.

"With this dispute behind Atari Inc., we look forward to continuing our relationship with FUNimation and continuing to deliver to our consumers exciting products from the Dragon Ball Z franchise," said Atari's chief restructuring officer Curtis G. Solavig.

Atari has just recently released Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 3 for the Wii and PlayStation 2. The company earned USD 85 million on the Dragon Ball Z franchise in fiscal 2005.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now