Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

ASDA drops 80GB PlayStation 3 price to 250

Tue 18 Aug 2009 8:07am GMT / 4:07am EDT / 1:07am PDT
Retail

Ahead of Sony conference at Gamescom today, retailer slashes bundle price until stock runs out

ASDA has begun offering the PlayStation 3 at a new low price - a move that adds further credence to reports an official price drop will be announced by Sony at its Gamescom press conference being held this evening.

The retailer is now offering the 80GB console, with the film Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines on Blu-ray and the game Terminator Salvation, as well as either Ghostbusters The Game or Infamous, for GBP 250. A spokesperson told GamesIndustry.biz this morning that the offer would continue until stock ran out as Sony was thought to be discontinuing the model.

Several European retailers - in France and Sweden - have also dropped their PlayStation 3 prices over the last week.

Speculation has been mounting over an official price drop for the console, as well as the unveiling of a new slim PlayStation 3 model. Announcements are expected at a press conference being held by Sony in Cologne this evening, which also - it has been revealed - coincides with the PlayStation Network being taken offline for maintenance between 5-7pm BST.

With Sony also expected to make announcements about its improved PSP store at the conference, speculation is mounting an update could be put into place as the conference happens.

Sony also unveiled a Game of the Year edition of LittleBigPlanet today, which will launch across North America on September 8. The game will include 18 user-created levels commissioned especially for the pack, as well as interviews with their makers.

Currently there's no news on a European release for the game.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now