Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

ASA dismisses GTA IV ad complaints

Wed 30 Jul 2008 11:04am GMT / 7:04am EDT / 4:04am PDT
Advertising

Authority supports Rockstar following complaints of violence in TV ad

The Advertising Standards Authority in the UK has dismissed a number of complaints for an advert for Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto IV on the Xbox 360.

A total of 17 viewers took exception of the ad which shows central character Niko Bellic strolling through a city as criminal acts occur, ending with Bellic smashing a car window and driving away.

Ten viewers complained about the violence, while seven took exception to the time of the broadcast.

After consulting with Rockstar, the ASA agreed that the audience during the broadcast was most likely made up of adults, and that the violence in the ad was exaggerated and cartoon-like.

"Although some viewers may object to the nature of the game, the ad itself did not feature sequences that were likely to have a direct harmful influence on children or young people," said the ASA.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now