Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

ASA dismisses Bully advertising complaints

Wed 09 Jul 2008 9:48am GMT / 5:48am EDT / 2:48am PDT
Advertising

Authority backs Take-Two despite 31 complaints from members of the public

The Advertising Standards Authority has dismissed accusations that a TV ad for Take-Two's Bully Scholarship Edition glorified and trivialised bullying.

The ASA received 31 complaints about the ad, but said that while the content of the game may be distasteful, the ads themselves were not in breach of any rules.

"Although many might find the name and content of the game to be in poor taste, the content of the ad was unlikely to cause serious or widespread offence," it said.

The ASA noted that any violence in the ad was comic and exaggerated, and as such did not glorify or encourage violence. It also concluded that the ad had been appropriately scheduled.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now