Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

App Store downloads top 2 billion

Tue 29 Sep 2009 7:35am GMT / 3:35am EDT / 12:35am PDT
HardwareOnline

Available apps now total 85,000; 125,000 devs signed up to Apple programme

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

More than two billion apps have now been downloaded from the App Store by users, Apple has confirmed.

These downloads have been accumulated from 85,000 apps available to more than 50 million iPhone and iPod Touch consumers. The total number of developers currently registered for Apple's iPhone Developer Programme has now reached 125,000.

"The rate of App Store downloads continues to accelerate with users downloading a staggering two billion apps in just over a year, including more than half a billion apps this quarter alone," said CEO Steve Jobs. "The App Store has reinvented what you can do with a mobile handheld device, and our users are clearly loving it."

The App Store went live on July 10 2008, via an update to iTunes. Almost exactly one year later, Apple had notched up downloads of 1.5 billion applications and was hosting 65,000 apps.

Yesterday, UK mobile phone carrier Orange announced it will be offering Apple's iPhone on its network later this year. It is estimated the deal will enable iPhone to reach nearly 75 per cent of the UK's total mobile market.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now