Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

App Store's content hits 100,000 mark

Wed 04 Nov 2009 3:03pm GMT / 10:03am EST / 7:03am PST
MobileOnline

Users have downloaded over two billion apps since Store's launch

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

The App Store is now home to over 100,000 apps, while downloads have surpassed the two billion mark, Apple has announced.

At the end of September, the number of apps stood at 85,000, with over 125,000 developers signed up to Apple's iPhone Developer Programme. A breakdown of category content on the store found that games are by far the most popular type of app available, accounting for 19.6 per cent of the Store's content.

"The App Store, now with over 100,000 applications available, is clearly a major differentiator for millions of iPhone and iPod touch customers around the world," said Apple's senior VP of worldwide product marketing, Philip Schiller. "The iPhone SDK created the first great platform for mobile applications and our customers are loving all of the amazing apps our developers are creating."

"The App Store has forever changed the mobile gaming industry and continues to improve," added Travis Boatman, EA Mobile's VP of worldwide studios. "With a global reach of over 50 million iPhone and iPod touch users, the App Store has allowed us to develop high quality EA games that have been a huge success with customers."

Apple's digital store is now available in 77 countries. A new App Purchase feature recently introduced by the platform holder now allows developers to sell content, subscriptions and digital services directly to users from within their applications.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now