Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Amazon lists Kinect for $150

Fri 18 Jun 2010 7:39am GMT / 3:39am EDT / 12:39am PDT
HardwareRumour

Retailer predicts pricing ahead of Microsoft's August announcement

Amazon

Amazon.com strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually...

amazon.com

Shopping website Amazon is taking pre-orders for Kinect, the motion control add-on for the Xbox 360, despite Microsoft remaining tight-lipped on the price.

Amazon has listed the unit for $149.99 - significantly lower than the popular rumour of $190, but corroborating GameStop's estimate a few days earlier. In either case, it will not become available until November 4.

Kinect has swiftly become a chart-topper for the site, despite Amazon's estimate pitching it as more than three times as expensive as Sony's rival PlayStation Move.

Microsoft exclusively toldGamesIndustry yesterday that it would officially unveil Kinect pricing at this year's gamescom in August. It will likely remain to be seen until then whether Amazon's price is accurate, or simply a best-guess.

3 Comments

James Finlan
Studying Information Systems

62 0 0.0
$129/£99/99e wait and see ;)

Edited 1 times. Last edit by James Finlan on 18th June 2010 3:49pm

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Johan Ekblom

20 0 0.0
$150 for an Eye Toy is too expensive

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Thomas Würgler
Staff writer

19 1 0.1
Considering most people will be getting the starter pack and the navigation controller, the prices aren't too far apart. Kinect also supports more players out of the box, so Kinect could end up being cheaper depending on your requirements.

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now