Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Alten8 disputes reports of Nintendo blocking DS release

Mon 10 Mar 2008 11:41am GMT / 7:41am EDT / 4:41am PDT

Publisher Alten8 has disputed reports that Nintendo has blocked the release of its forthcoming DS game Imagination is the Only Escape.

Publisher Alten8 has disputed reports that Nintendo has blocked the release of its forthcoming DS game Imagination is the Only Escape.

The game, which deals with issues of the Holocaust, is only in the early stages of development, but some reports have suggested that neither Nintendo US nor Nintendo Europe is willing to release the game.

"[Imagination is the Only Escape] is only in its early stages," said a spokesperson for Alten8, reports Eurogamer.net.

"No one has blocked it, and it has no definitive time scale for release."

The game is being developed by Luc Bernard for Alten8, and is one of five titles in the hands of the 21 year-old British designer.

A report by the New York Times suggested that Nintendo US would not be releasing the game in North America.

Although the subject matter may be considered controversial, a spokesperson for the Anti-Defamation League said it welcomed any attempts to educate people using new technology.

"We certainly believe that we have to find new ways of teaching lessons of the Holocaust as new technologies are being developed," said Myrna Shinbaum.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now