Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Alienware PCs to come with Steam pre-installed

Wed 25 Nov 2009 12:46pm GMT / 7:46am EST / 4:46am PST
BusinessHardware

Dell to offer Valve game service and free copy of Portal with PC range

Dell has announced its Alienware line of PCs will now come with a free copy of Valve's Portal and Steam pre-installed on them.

The move, said a Dell spokesperson, is intended simplify PC gaming for its users, and will enable Alienware consumers to experience Steam straight out of the box.

"With its automatic game updates, easy friend finding and the ability to play your Steam purchased games on any PC, Valve has helped simplify PC gaming to make it more enjoyable," said Frank Azor, Dell senior manager of product planning.

"It's for those reasons we selected Steam to compliment the Alienware experience."

"Entertainment, specifically gaming, is a primary use of PCs in the home and on the road," added Jason Holtman, director of business developer at Valve. "Alienware is a household name among PC gamers who want the most out of their hardware. The combination of Alienware hardware and Steam equals a superior gaming experience."

The software is to come pre-loaded on both Alienware's desktop and laptop range of PCs.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now