Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision to delay Starcraft 2 - analyst

Fri 10 Jul 2009 8:15am GMT / 4:15am EDT / 1:15am PDT
GamesPublishing

Blizzard title to appear in 2010, says Sterne Agee's Arvind Bhatia

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Following the statement from Activision that its forthcoming shooter Singularity will be delayed to 2010, Sterne Agee analyst Arvind Bhatia believes that the same fate is likely to befall Starcraft 2: Wings of Liberty.

The Blizzard title, currently slated for an October 2009 release, saw the launch of its beta version delayed recently, leading Bhatia to believe that it "increasingly appear[s]" the final game will also be delayed, reports the Wall Street Journal.

However, thanks to the presence of Modern Warfare 2 on the slate, analysts don't believe that any delays to Starcraft 2 will hurt Activision too much, and arguably it would instead offer a significant boost during a quieter Q1 2010.

Blizzard declined to comment on the story. The company is currently gearing up for its annual Blizzcon event, which will take place in Anaheim in August, while the company is currently developing World of Warcraft, Starcraft 2, Diablo 3 and another unnamed MMO title.

1 Comment

Simon Garner
Managing Director

11 5 0.5
"Slated for an October 2010 release" - should read 2009. I'm hoping Blizz will make a release announcement at Blizzcon, but they're going to have to hurry up and get the beta started if they're going to have it out this year.

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now