Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision plans future charges for COD content

Mon 16 Nov 2009 9:30am GMT / 4:30am EST / 1:30am PST
BusinessOnline

Blizzard inspired online monetisation models will be tested with game

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision executive Tom Tippl has said there are plans to charge Call of Duty users for online features in future.

"It's definitely an aspiration that we see potential in, particularly as we look at different business models to monetise the online gameplay," Tippl said during a business conference (as reported by Eurogamer, via IGN). "There's good knowledge exchange happening between the Blizzard folks and our online guys."

"We have great experience also on Call of Duty with the success we had on Xbox Live and PlayStation Network. A lot of that knowledge is getting actually built into the Battle.Net platform and the design of that," he continued.

"I think it's been mutually beneficial, and you should expect us to test and ultimately launch additional online monetisation models of some of some of our biggest franchises like Call of Duty."

And Tippl isn't concerned COD fans will object to having to pay for additional features, adding: "Our gamers are telling us there's lots of services and innovation they would like to see that they're not getting yet."

"From what we see so far, additional content, as well as all the services Blizzard is offering, is that there is demand from the core gamers to pay up for that."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now