Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision plans annual Bond titles

Tue 16 Sep 2008 8:59am GMT / 4:59am EDT / 1:59am PDT
Games

Quantum of Solace to be followed by yearly releases in the franchise despite no accompanying movies

Activision Blizzard is set to release games in the James Bond franchise annually, following the release of the upcoming title Quantum of Solace, according to analysts at Cowen and Company.

"James Bond will become an annual franchise, which we had not necessarily expected given the lack of an accompanying movie next year," commented analyst Doug Cruetz.

Two years ago, Activision was awarded the licensing rights to the Bond franchise through to 2014, by MGM Interactive and EON Productions.

Last year, Activision's CEO Bobby Kotick, reaffirmed the company's commitment to the franchise, saying it is "one of the greatest videogame franchises of all time".

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now