Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision confirms Underground closure

Sat 19 Apr 2008 3:05am GMT / 11:05pm EDT / 8:05pm PDT
Development

Activision will be closing its Foster City development studio formerly known as Z-Axis at the end of May

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision has confirmed rumours that it will be closing Underground Development, its Foster City studio.

The studio formerly known as Z-Axis was behind the Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX and Aggressive Inline series. It was acquired by Activision in May 2002 and was renamed Underground Development in February 2008.

"Activision is closing its Foster City development studio which had less than 45 employees," an Activision spokesperson told GamesIndustry.biz.

"We are currently making efforts to find opportunities for all employees at other Activision studios."

Underground Development most recently handled the PlayStation 3 version of Quake Wars which will be released on May 27 in North America and on May 30 in Europe and Australia. Nerve Software developed the Xbox 360 version.

Activision said that it expects the development studio to be closed by the end of May.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now