Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision Blizzard eyeing Take-Two?

Fri 11 Jul 2008 5:40am GMT / 1:40am EDT / 10:40pm PDT
Business

Janco Partners believes newly merged company is "stirring the pot" in front of EA

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

With the ink still drying on the merger of Activision and Vivendi games, one analyst believes that Activision Blizzard could at least be eyeing the possible acquisition of Take-Two.

Although some analysts state there's no chance Activision Blizzard would steal a Take-Two deal from Electronic Arts, Janco Partners' Mike Hickey said competitors will always be evaluating acquisition opportunities.

"We absolutely believe Activision will take a look at Take-Two," said Hickey, speaking to the The Deal.com.

"If a competitor is for sale, you take a look, and if EA is your real rival, why wouldn’t you stir the pot a little bit?"

However, UBS Securities' Ben Schachter said that Activision Blizzard is too busy with the new company to consider further acquisitions.

"It is highly unlikely that Activision would try to outbid EA. They have enough on their plate at the moment," he offered.

Electronic Arts is still pursuing its acquisition of Take-Two for USD 25.74 per share, extending its offer for the company until August 21.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now